You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

The DETAIL editorial team will choose the most impressive projects from all the entries. In a second step, on 26 June 2020, a top-class international jury of experts will select the winners of the DETAIL Prize 2020 from the nominations. The independent jury members will define the evaluation criteria for the jury meeting and evaluate the works. The decision of the jury cannot be contested. There is no right of appeal.

The jury consists of the following members:

DETAIL Preis 2020, Jury, Sandra Hofmeister

© Michela Morosini

Sandra Hofmeister
DETAIL, Munich

Sandra Hofmeister is editor-in-chief of DETAIL and a board member of DETAIL Business Information GmbH. Her journalistic work comprises a large number of texts, primarily on the topics of architecture and design, which have been published in German and English-language books, magazines and daily newspapers. After studying art history in Berlin, she earned her doctorate at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich in 2006. In addition to her work as a moderator und author, Sandra Hofmeister was editor-in-chief of the German-language version of Domus from 2012 to 2015, and coordinated the launch of the lincensed magazine.
She currently teaches at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. Her most recent publications include the volume “Our Bauhaus Heritage / Unser Bauhaus Erbe” (Edition DETAIL, 2019).

DETAIL Preis 2020, Jury, Louisa Hutton

© sauerbruchhutton

Louisa Hutton,
Sauerbruch Hutton, Berlin

Louisa Hutton is an architect and founding partner of Sauerbruch Hutton. She has taught at the Architectural Association and was a visiting professor at Harvard Graduate School of Design. Hutton has lectured, chaired and participated in juries around the world and is a member of the Curatorial Board of the Schelling Architecture Foundation, an Honorary Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, and a Royal Academician of Arts.
The architecture of Sauerbruch Hutton has been awarded various prizes including the Gottfried Semper Award in 2013. For the Immanuel Church in Cologne the practice was awarded the German Architecture Award 2015.

DETAIL Preis 2020, Jury, Kim Herforth Nielsen

© Tuala Hjarnø

Kim Herforth Nielsen
3XN, Copenhagen

Kim H. Nielsen is founder and principal of 3XN. Since the start of the company in 1986, Kim H. Nielsen has been the creative driving force behind 3XN. He functions as the creative director and has overall responsibility for the architectural quality of 3XN’s work from the idea to the final result. Kim Herforth Nielsen has been involved in all of the practice’s major projects, including the Quay Quarter Tower in Sydney, Copenhagen Arena, the aquarium The Blue Planet, Museum of Liverpool, Ørestad College in Copenhagen, Muziekgebouw Concert Hall in Amsterdam, IOC Headquarters in Lausanne, and the UN City HQ in Copenhagen and many more.
Kim H. Nielsen is often called upon as a jury member in International architectural competitions and as a lecturer at art academies and universities around the world. Since 2013 Kim has been chairman of architecture committee at Danish Arts Foundation.

DETAIL Preis 2020, Jury, Anna Ramos

© Anna Mas – Fundació Mies van der Rohe

Anna Ramos
Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Barcelona

Anna Ramos is architect and has been director of Fundació Mies van der Rohe since 2016. Before that time, she ran her own architectural office for 16 years developing renovation and new housing projects as well as public, cultural and service facilities. Since 2003 she has held an associate professorship at the Department of Architectural Technology of Escola Tècnica Superior d´Arquitectura de Barcelona UPC, where in addition, she was Assistant Dean for International Relations from 2014 to 2016. Previously she taught as an associated lecturer at the School of Architecture at the UIC Barcelona and at the Degree in Design at the UPC. At international level, she has taught courses in European and North American schools of architecture. She has also participated as a speaker in several conferences and international meetings. Furthermore, from 2005-2008 she was president of the Young Architects’ Association of Catalonia, Col·legi d’Arquitectes de Catalunya, that organizes the AJAC Awards for Young Architects.

DETAIL Preis 2020, Jury, Jacob van Rijs

© Barbra Verbij

Jacob van Rijs
MVRDV, Rotterdam

Jacob van Rijs is a co-founder and principal architect of MVRDV, an interdisciplinary studio that works at the intersection of architecture and urbanism. The award-winning Dutch practice was set up by Van Rijs alongside Winy Maas and Nathalie de Vries in 1993. In the past 25 years he has lead a wide variety of projects including the Danish Rock Museum, community centre KU.BE and Frøsilo in Denmark, Matsudai Cultural Centre in Japan, Mirador social housing in Madrid, Spain and Casa Kwantes in Schiedam, the Netherlands. Van Rijs successfully led the growing MVRDV Office into a new era as the firm’s Managing Director, a role he stepped down from in November 2018 in order to spend more time on projects such as the Modernist and the Sax, both in Rotterdam, and the Pixel in Abu Dhabi – and teaching at the Technical University of Berlin, Germany, where he is Professor of Architectural Design.
Besides his work for MVRDV, Van Rijs is Chairman of the Board of Archiprix International and Chairman of the Board of the Architecture Film Festival Rotterdam.

DETAIL Preis 2020, Sponsoren


Detail Newsletter

We will keep you informed about international projects, news on architectural and design topics, research and current events in our newsletter.