You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

In 2020, DETAIL is awarding the international DETAIL Prize for the ninth time and is looking for projects that are ground-breaking due to their outstanding architectural-design and technical qualities.

The prize is awarded every two years by DETAIL in cooperation with sponsors from industry and conceptual partners from the field of politics. The declared aim of the DETAIL Prize is to highlight the importance of architecture for society, to strengthen the role of architects in public, and to promote networking among architects, industrialists, developers and politicians.


The judges are looking for the three best realisations in which the overall design concept and detailing are brought together in a coherent way. Prizes are awarded for future-oriented, innovative projects that go beyond the established standard.

DETAIL Prize for Students and Schools of Architecture
For the first time, a prize will be awarded for an outstanding project built by a school of architecture. The focus is on the development process and architecture as the implementation of teaching and research.

Projects of all building types and completed anywhere in the world after 01 January 2017 are eligible to compete for the DETAIL Prize 2020. Construction projects for new buildings, renovations, conversions and extensions may all be submitted. The competition is open to architects, civil engineers, structural engineers and universities.


Submission:            02 March to 30 April 2020
Nominations:          May 2020
Reader voting:        01 to 30 June 2020
Jury meeting:         26 June 2020
Award ceremony:   November 2020

Awarding architectural quality
In a first step, the DETAIL editorial team nominates the most impressive projects from all the submissions. In a second step, a high-calibre and international jury of experts will then select from the nominations the winners of the DETAIL Prize 2020. Also on offer once again will be the popular DETAIL Readers' Prize, the winner of which will be chosen by DETAIL readers' by means of an online vote.

Celebrating architecture
At a public award-ceremony to be held in November 2020 in Berlin, the three winning projects for the main prize and the prize-winning projects for the other categories will be presented by the respective offices. The winning projects of the DETAIL Prize 2020 will also be presented at BAU 2021, the world's leading trade fair for architecture, materials and systems, in Munich in January 2021.

Information on the winners of the DETAIL Prize 2018 can be found here.


Detail Newsletter

We will keep you informed about international projects, news on architectural and design topics, research and current events in our newsletter.