You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

print article Print article

Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2013 - Shortlist Revealed

The 20 nominees for the US$ 1 million prize were announced at Lisbon on 30 April 2013. The nominated projects range from a modern high rise apartment block to the revival of traditional building techniques and were selected by an independent Master Jury.

Maria Grazia Cutuli Primary School, Herat, Afghanistan


Islamic Cemetery, Altach, Austria


Museum of Handcraft Paper, Gaoligong Mountain, China


Rehabilitation of Nagaur Fort, Nagaur, Rajasthan, India


Preservation of the Mbaru Niang, Wae Rebo Village, Flores Island, Indonesia


Apartment No.1, Mahallat, Iran


Rehabilitation of Tabriz Bazaar, Tabriz, Iran


Reconstruction of Nahr el-Bared Refugee Camp, Tripoli, Lebanon


Hassan II Bridge, Rabat, Morocco


Mohammed VI Football Academy, Salé, Morocco


Preservation of Sacred and Collective Oasis Sites, Guelmim Region, Morocco


Revitalisation of Birzeit Historic Centre, Birzeit, Palestine


Umubano Primary School, Kigali, Rwanda


Mapungubwe Interpretation Centre, Limpopo, South Africa


Post-Tsunami Housing, Kirinda, Sri Lanka


Salam Centre for Cardiac Surgery, Khartoum, Sudan


Lycée Français Charles de Gaulle, Damascus, Syria


Kantana Film and Animation Institute, Nakhon Prathom, Thailand


Thula Fort Restoration, Thula, Yemen


The Met Tower, Bangkok, Thailand


Master Jury for the 2010-2013 Award cycle

  • Mr. David Adjaye, Principal, Adjaye Associates, London, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Howayda al-Harithy, Professor, Department of Architecture and Design, American University of Beirut, Lebanon
  • Mr. Michel Desvigne, Landscape Architect and Founder, Agence Michel Desvigne, Paris, France
  • Professor Mahmood Mamdani, Professor and Executive Director, Makerere Institute for Social Research (MISR), Wandegeya, Uganda
  • Mr. Kamil Merican, Principal Designer and CEO, Group Design Partnership, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Professor Toshiko Mori, Principal, Toshiko Mori Architect, New York City, USA
  • Ms. Shahzia Sikander, Artist, New York City, USA
  • Mr. Murat Tabanlioglu, Architect and Founder, Tabanlioglu Architects, Istanbul, Turkey
  • Mr. Wang Shu, Architect and Founder, Amateur Architecture Studio, Hangzhou, China

The winner will be announced in September 2013.

Further information

Current magazine
DETAIL 6/2020
DETAIL 6/2020

Modular prefabricated

See magazine
Product teaser


Detail Newsletter

We will keep you informed about international projects, news on architectural and design topics, research and current events in our newsletter.