You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

print article Print article
EU Mies van der Rohe Award 2019

The Finalists for the EU Mies van der Rohe Award 2019

The five finalists vying for the EU Mies van der Rohe Award 2019 come from Albania, Belgium, France, Germany and Spain. From a shortlist of 40 projects, the jury have selected the following: “PC CARITAS” in Melle by architecten de vylder vinck taillieu; “Plasencia Auditorium and Congress Centre” by selgascano; “Skanderbeg Square” in Tirana by 51N4E, Anri Sala, Plant en Houtgoed and iRI; “Terrassenhaus Berlin / Lobe Block” by Brandlhuber+ Emde, Burlon and Muck Petzet Architekten; and “Transformation of 530 dwellings - Grand Parc Bordeaux” by Lacaton & Vassas architects, Frédéric Druot Architecture and Christophe Hutin Architecture.

The main themes of this year’s award are adaptive reuse of existing structures, building for collective living and buildings in the areas of culture and education. All five finalists are known for their open interior designs that allow people to connect varying or even juxtaposing uses of space.

After a personal on-site review by the jury, the winner will be announced at the end of April. The award will be conferred on 7 May 2019 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

Further articles to the issue DETAIL 4/2019 are available here.

Current magazine
DETAIL 1-2/2022

Colour and Texture

See magazine
Product teaser


Detail Newsletter

We will keep you informed about international projects, news on architectural and design topics, research and current events in our newsletter.