You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

print article Print article
Pritzker Prize 2019, Arata Isozaki

2019 Pritzker Prize winner: Arata Isozaki

The outstanding Japanese architect Arata Isozaki has been named the 2019 laureate of the Pritzker Prize. The prize winner, referred to by some as the "emperor of Japanese architecture", was born in Ôita in 1931, and says his first conscious encounter with architecture was after the atomic bombs were dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki – architecture sublimated from ground zero and evading stylistic categorisation.

After gaining a doctorate at Tokyo University, Arata Isozaki worked under 1987 Pritzker Prize winner Kenzo Tange, whose protégé he became, and went on to found his own office Arata Isozaki & Associates in 1963. The jury particularly noted the international character of his architecture, which adeptly fuses east and west, and acknowledged his theoretical writings as reflecting a historical relevance unrivalled in breadth and depth.  

Among others, his best-known buildings include the Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles (1986), the Art Tower Mito in Ibaraki (1990), the Team Disney Building in Florida (1991), the Qatar National Convention Center in Doha (2011) and the Allianz Tower (2014) in Milan.

Current magazine
DETAIL 9/2021

Concept: Sports Facilities

See magazine
Product teaser


Detail Newsletter

We will keep you informed about international projects, news on architectural and design topics, research and current events in our newsletter.