You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

print article Print article
Special Architecture Prize presented by DETAIL

animago AWARD 2017: Special Architecture Prize presented by DETAIL

Our ways of seeing are changing at a dizzying rate. None of the creative fields will be able to avoid rapidly progressing developments in the area of intuitively usable applications. This is particularly true for architecture, an area where extremely complex relationships must be moulded into a form that is both generally comprehensible and ready for immediate adaptation in order to withstand the pressure to economize in a time of increasingly limited resources. Standard architectural visualizations are seldom sufficient when it comes not only to developing original, productive solutions but also conveying these to clients. Moreover, qualities such as storytelling, user-interface design and live action are in demand. Can architects in these areas learn from the best experts from the visual effects industry?

Since 1997, the internationally established animago AWARD has been recognizing visually impressive productions from the areas of 3D Animation & Still, Visual Effects and Visualization & Design. Up to now, more than 22,000 productions have been presented for evaluation. Last year, the competition celebrated its twentieth anniversary with 13 conferees from nine different countries. The 1,076 submissions came from 58 countries altogether.

This year, there will be 11 categories in the competition, including the Special Architecture Prize presented by DETAIL: the best film production from the area of architectural visualization will be awarded in conjunction with the journal DETAIL. The jury will evaluate design, project concept and overall composition.

This category was added last year and saw such an influx of submissions that the organizers decided to concentrate entirely on moving images in the area of architecture and judge architectural visualization stills in the normal Still category.

Participation in the animago AWARD is free of charge. It offers creative people an excellent opportunity to present and assess themselves within the industry. The award ceremony will take place on 7 September 2017 at the Gasteig cultural centre in Munich.

The deadline for submission for this year’s animago AWARD is 31 May 2017. You will find more information about submission regulations and application deadlines here: animago AWARD.

More submission examples from 2016 can be seen on the website of the organizing body, the journal Digital Production.

In 2016, the Special Prize for Architecture in the category Film went to a project by Swedish artist Stefan Larsson. This autodidact, who has lived in Japan for the past seven years, attained special knowledge in motion tracking primarily from his animations of robots and organisms. In his project Spatial Bodies, the camera moves to expressly composed, hypnotic sounds through metabolically inspired architectural shapes in a world “among robots, organisms and architecture, through which the observer seems to float silently as if in a Zeppelin.”

Below, you can watch the film about the main prize and the two other nominated works from last year, White Apartment by Florian Tappeser / Hochschule Darmstadt and Putzmeister – Bauma 2016 by Schokolade Filmproduktion with Agentur Zet B:
Stefan Larsson – »Spatial Bodies«
Florian Tappeser / Hochschule Darmstadt – »White Apartment«
Schokolade Filmproduktion mit Agentur Zet B – »Putzmeister – Bauma 2016«
<iframe width="1280" height="720" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Current magazine
DETAIL 1-2/2022

Colour and Texture

See magazine
Product teaser


Detail Newsletter

We will keep you informed about international projects, news on architectural and design topics, research and current events in our newsletter.