DETAIL Prize 2014

DETAIL Prize 2014, logo

Innovative Details sought: DETAIL, together with the world-leading trade fair BAU 2015 and the main sponsor, Josef Gartner GmbH, announces the launch of the renowned DETAIL Prize 2014 competition.

Submit your project

The competition organizers are looking for projects that are characterized by innovative details in a convincing overall concept. The main prize comes with EUR 5,000. The jury will also confer additional awards to particularly impressive projects. The Readers' Prize, first awarded in 2012, will once again be awarded this year following an online vote by DETAIL readers and Internet users.

Between 1 June and 31 July 2014 architects and designers can submit their projects online at After the deadline, the DETAIL editorial team will nominate the best works and present them to the jury as well as to readers to vote on.

The winners will be awarded in the autumn of 2014 at a formal award ceremony in Berlin. An exhibition of the award-winning works will be held during the world-leading BAU 2015 trade fair, which will take place in Munich in January 2015.

The declared aim of the DETAIL Prize is to highlight the importance of architecture for society, to strengthen the role of architects in public life, and to foster networking between architects, industry figures, builders, and policy-makers.


Invitation to take part:

1 June 2014

Final date for submission of entries:

31 July 2014

Online voting:

18 August to 20 September 2014

Awards ceremony:

20 November 2014



  • Werner Frosch, Henning Larsen Architects, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Dorte Mandrup-Poulsen, Dorte Mandrup Arkitekter, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Valerio Olgiati, Flims, Switzerland
  • Enrique Sobejano, Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, Madrid, Spain
  • Gerhard Wittfeld, kadawittfeldarchitektur, Aachen, Germany



Submit your project

Conditions of competition (PDF)


Submit your project:

Conditions of competition (PDF):