Print page


Architecture | Topics

Young architecture: Winners of "New Practices New York 2014"

For the fifth time to date, the American Institute of Architecture has honoured innovative solutions and work strategies by young New York architectural offices, making the respective awards in an effort to find and promote talents. The practices must be based within one of the city's five boroughs and not have been in existence for longer than ten years. The six winners comprise PARA-Project, Nameless Architecture, form-ula, Fake Industries Architectural Agonism, dlandstudio architecture + landscape and Bittertang and was featured in an exhibition at the Center for Architecture.

Haffenden House, PARA-Project

Haffenden House, Architects: PARA-Project

Critical engagement with the social, technological and environmentally-relevant issues that shape our contemporary culture was one of the most important decision criteria for the jury made up of Alejandro Zaero-Polo, Elaine Molinar of Snøhetta, Jing Liu of Solid Objectives, Lucia Allais (School of Architecture at Princeton University), and the critic and architectural historian William Menking. At the same time, a focus was also placed on contextual measures and the search for innovative communication strategies and synergistic concepts.

Church made of concrete  in Byeollae, Korea, Nameless Architecture

Church made of concrete in Byeollae, Korea, Architects: Nameless Architecture

Sushiteria, form-ula

Sushiteria, Architects: form-ula, Photo: Barkow Photo

BQE Trench Reconnection Strategies for Brownstone Brooklyn, Dlandstudio

BQE Trench Reconnection Strategies for Brownstone Brooklyn, Architects: Dlandstudio

Velodome, Fake Industries Architectural Agonism

Velodome, Architects: Fake Industries Architectural Agonism

Ice Palace, Bittertang

Ice Palace, Architects: Bittertang


Related articles

2015 AIA Top Ten Green Projects

The American Institute of Architects and its Committee on the Environment have selected the top ten examples of sustainable architecture ...


University Center – The New School - 2015 AIA Top Ten Green Project

The LEED Gold building provides space for all aspects of a traditional campus, with 200,000 square feet of academic space ...


Tassafaronga Village - 2015 AIA Top Ten Green Project

Deep roof overhangs, fin walls, site plantings, and thoughtful window placement provide resilience against heat spikes, relieving high southern and ...